Created in 2012 by the Illinois Supreme Court to promote equal access to the civil court system for all.


Learn More About Our Commitment to Racial Justice


Hon. Jorge L. Ortiz (Chair)
Circuit Judge, 19th Judicial Circuit

Carolyn H. Clift
Attorney at Law (Ret.)

Linda T. Coberly
Winston & Strawn LLP

Hon. Alison C. Conlon 
Circuit Court, Circuit Court of Cook County



Hon. Thomas M. Harris, Jr.
Justice, Illinois Appellate Court, 4th District

Sally McDonald
Attorney at Law (Ret.)

Kathy McNamara, MSW, LSW, CTP
Juvenile Probation Services, DuPage County

Hon. Chloe G. Pedersen
Circuit Judge, Circuit Court of Cook County


Hon. Sanjay Tailor
Justice, Illinois Appellate Court, 1st District

Wendy Vaughn
Clinical Professor, Northern Illinois University College of Law

Andrew M. Weaver
Deputy Director of Program Operations, Land of Lincoln Legal Assistance Foundation

Hon. David K. Overstreet Supreme Court Liaison
Justice, Illinois Supreme Court

The ATJ Commission is composed of 11 Commissioners who are appointed for three-year terms. The Supreme Court appoints seven members, while The Chicago Bar Foundation, Lawyers Trust Fund of Illinois, Illinois Equal Justice Foundation, and Illinois Bar Foundation each name a Commissioner. Justice David K. Overstreet is the Supreme Court liaison to the ATJ Commission.

The ATJ Commission has established committees and subcommittees that are composed of volunteers from different parts of the state with expertise to help in its work. Committees include the Appellate Committee, Community Trust Committee, Court Guidance and Training Committee, Forms Committee (with many subcommittees), Language Access Committee, Remote Appearance Committee, Rules and Policy Review Committee, and Grant Programs Selection Committee.

The Access to Justice Division within the Administrative Office of the Illinois Courts provides staff support to the ATJ Commission and integrates the ATJ Commission’s initiatives into the operations and systems of the judicial branch at a statewide level. Illinois Supreme Court Rule 10-100.